## Timeline: The Origin and Development of the SSND Rule and Constitutions Mary Luke Baldwin, SSND

The Rule of the School Sisters of Notre Dame has its origin in the spirit of St. Augustine as lived by the Canonesses of St. Augustine who taught Caroline Gerhardinger.

- 1598 Congregation of Notre Dame, or Canonesses of St. Augustine began. They lived by a provisional rule.
- 1617 St. Peter Fourier gave the Congregation the Little Constitutions.
- 1640 St. Peter Fourier gave the Congregation the **Great Constitutions** as their Rule. Most of the houses chose to follow the Rule 1617.
- 1734 Congregation of Notre Dame opened a school for girls in Stadtamhof, Bavaria
- 1809 School of Congregation of Notre Dame in Stadtamhof was closed by the German government
- 1833 Father Job finishes his **Spirit of the Constitutions**.
- 1833 First convent established at Neunburg vorm Wald.
- 1835 Sisters take vows according to the **1617 Rule** of the congregation of Notre Dame and Father Job's **Spirit of the Constitutions**.
- 1854 Outline of SSND Rule accepted by the Church
- 1859 SSND Rule approved for six years
- 1865 SSND Rule given final approval
- 1924 SSND rule approved as revised after Code of Canon Law changed in 1917.
- **1956** General Chapter responding to the call of Pope Pius XII for renewal of religious life decided to move the Generalate from Munich to Rome, provided for a more international General Council, offered a vernacular short breviary, and other changes.
- 1962 General Chapter continued some steps in renewal, including a revision of the habit.
- **1966** As Vatican Council II documents called forth further efforts at renewal, Sisters from each Province were asked to send suggestions for renewal and adaptation. \*
- **1968** The Interim Constitutions were created as a response to Vatican II.
- **1970** General Chapter Preparatory Committee: S. Mary Abbott, S. Mary Margaret Johanning, S. Mary Hester Valentine, S. M. Clara (Italy), S. M. Michaela and S.M. Helmtrud (Germany)
- \*Writers: English: S. Mary Abbott (NI), S. Mary Hester Valentine (MQ), S. Mary Luke Baldwin (MQ-Rome). German: S.M. Helmtrud (WF), S.M. Gabriele (AR), S. Godwina (BY) S. Aquina (BR-Rome)
- **1970** SSND Rule (Constitutions and Directory, *You Are Sent*) approved by 13<sup>th</sup> General Chapter and accepted by the Sacred Congregation for Religious

- **1971** Preparatory Committee met with provincial superiors from Munich, Berlin, Westphalia, Austria, Gorizia, and Yugoslavia to exchange ideas. They also met with others in North and South America.
- **1972** The General Chapter was to consider the acceptance and implementation of the new constitution by the members at large. In order to do this a professional self-study was conducted in 1971-72 and the results were included in the agenda prepared for the Chapter. The process of the chapter was facilitated by S. Barbara Valuckas of Wilton
- **1977** Revision of General Directory on Government
- **1980** S. Mary Margaret Johanning announced the Committee for the Revision: S. Christine Catron (Dallas, USA), S. Carol Ann Collins, (St. Louis, USA), S. Maria Concecau della Guistina, (Porto Alegre, Brazil), S. Mary Kay Gosh, (Mankato, USA), S. Erna Heumann, (Bavaria, Germany), S. Amata Kupka, (Poland), S. Valentia Leibel (Canada) Chairperson; S. Beatrix Mayrhofer, (Austria). Translators: S. Helen Plum, (Mequon) and S. Thoma Galuschka (Berlin, Germany) They would be presenting a process to the Extended General Council and facilitate gathering of input from the entire congregation. A proposed draft of the revised documents will be presented to the General Chapter in 1982.
- **1981** First draft of revision sent to provinces. Responses were due in early 1982. There was special emphasis on input from provincial/regional assemblies and dialogue with General Chapter delegates and representatives of General Council and Revision Committee.
- **1982** General Chapter considers the revision of *You Are Sent* and votes on the text. Revision writers: S. Rose Miriam Wegman (SL), S. Christine Catron (DA), S. Beatrix Mayrhofer (OR)

Ad hoc language committees <u>English</u>: S. Rose Miriam, S. Christine, S. Ruth Marie (BA), S. Nadine (CH) S. Maureen MK), S. Miriam Victor (SL), S. Beatrix (OR) German: S. Beatrix (OR), S. Bergitta (BY), S. Godwina (BY), S. Diemut (WF), S. Beata (BR) **1982** Revision of Rule (*You Are Sent*) approved by 17<sup>th</sup> General Chapter

**1986** March 25, 1986: Approval of the Constitution given by the Sacred Congregation for Religious and Secular Institutes